> Reviews

Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
2269 results found
Show results 1 - 25
shoffnk about  Cheddar Cheese Powder, 1 lb:
Oct 26, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Would be helpful if directions for use were on container... instead of having to look up on Hoosier Hill Farm
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (0)
Wendy Cook about  Big Daddy Mac Mix, Original 1 lb:
Nov 17, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I can't believe someone bottles and sells the orange-y cheese-y powder-y stuff that comes in the mac & cheese box! Ok, maybe not the EXACT same stuff, but it TASTES like the same exact stuff. Man. I was raised on it and even though I am all grownup and enjoy a rather diverse field of epicurean delights... I gotta say, on occasion, I needs my mac & cheese and, god-help-me, a fried spam sandwich. It only hits once or twice a year, but when it hits, it hits hard. Gots to have it. And this is the PERFECT addition. I now get to make my mac & cheese as cheese-y as I dreamed of making it when I was a tiny tot shaking the silver envelope to get out every last bit. Seeing this, being able to buy it and keep it on my shelf, makes me happy I am an adult. It allows me, just for a moment, to fulfill a much longed-for fantasy with ease and (I admit it) just a tiny feeling of naughtiness. 5 starts, Hoosier Hill Farm, for giving me a wonderful, semi-annual experience.

Advantages: I am.... The All-Powerful Queen of the Envelope Cheese! Muah ha ha ha!!!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Oct 9, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I picked up this butter powder to make household food mixes ready for backpacking. Butter in your mashed potatoes? Check. Butter as called for in your stuffing recipe? Check. It tastes good and has worked perfectly for bringing real butter on to the trail.

Advantages: Delicious and packable butter for the trail
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
nvz58tz about  Whole Granulated Eggs 1 lb.:
Aug 10, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I really would like to see the powdered chickens.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (1)
William P. Marseglia about  Cream Cheese powder, 1 Lb.:
Mar 2, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Take alaskan smoked king salmon-----mayo and this super CC product and you make the best dip going.Go ahead get that expensive smoked salmon and find that Oh thought I had cream cheese. no cream cheese. But if THIS is in the cupboard your covered. Third time ordering this as well as the sour cream. I add both to a variety of food. I don't understand why this one commenter said the it just sits there staring at her or him. She can no think how to use the product. That is pure criminal because I use both as thickeners and the results, like creamed spinach is Olymipic culinary teem results. Every time.

Advantages: Take alaskan smoked king salmon-----mayo and this super CC product and you make the best dip going
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Hoosier Hill Farm Customer about  Big Daddy Mac Mix, Original 1 lb:
Nov 9, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This product is very close to the Kraft cheese powder product and I have been enjoying it. Give it a try!

Advantages: This product is very close to the Kraft cheese powder ...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Sep 27, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Delicious and well maid. It has a sweetens to it that is great for cooking things like ham and chicken, I do think it could use some salt or garlic added.

Advantages: It has a sweetens to it that is great for cooking things like ham and chicken
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Infiniti Lover about  Whole Granulated Eggs 1 lb.:
Aug 11, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I bought this for long term food storage. It looks good and I am sure it will work fine. Disappointed that expiration was so short? Just rec'd ,Aug.15 and it expires Feb.'16? So only a few months? Will plan on using for baking over holidays and reorder. Hope for longer expiration next time?

Advantages: Looks Good
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (1)
Nov 11, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Made several batches of home-bacon with this so far. Works great!!

Advantages: Works great!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Sep 3, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
We used this powder to make homemade smoked bacon. It only takes a little bit but that little bit makes the end product come out just right. We used Morton Tenderquick for the first batch and there's no comparison that the prague batch was hands down better. Highly recommend using this pink salt at least on bacon. Can't wait to try it on our next batch of jerky.

Advantages: We used Morton Tenderquick for the first batch and there's no comparison that the prague batch was hands down better. Highly rec
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Nov 29, 2014
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I've tried various brands. Seem to be unwashed. Always fresh. I don't bake, but for my needs they never fail to please.

Advantages: I've tried various brands. Seem to be unwashed. ...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Jessica D. Balowski about  Cream Cheese powder, 1 Lb.:
Nov 3, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This was purchased to expand our camping "kitchen."When added to instant pudding, it gives it a nice cheesecake like flavor that lets us have a fake cheesecake, even while camping (or a great dessert during a power outage.)I would not say that this is exactly like cream cheese (it lacks density and fat) but it does provide a little something extra if you're looking for that.

Advantages: Slightly like cream cheese
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
flatula about  Cream Cheese powder, 1 Lb.:
Sep 30, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I made a couple of small batches ... gotta use a lot to make it taste good.

Advantages: gotta use a lot to make it taste good.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Maurice Degler about  Cream Cheese powder, 1 Lb.:
Jul 8, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Tastes just like cream cheese and is a wonderful addition to any storage. Comes in handy when you want to make something that calls for cream cheese. Definitely recommend

Advantages: Tastes just like cream cheese and is a wonderful addition to any ...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Savannah Ammon about  Cream Cheese powder, 1 Lb.:
Mar 4, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Makes the best stroganoff!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Aug 31, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Great stuff! Beats the hell out of the .99/pack stuff at the grocery store.One wish: Larger packaging at better price. I'd buy 5 pound cans of the stuff.... Same for the Beef.Oh, and how about some nice country sausage gravy and white gravy? It's obvious you know what you're doing. Do it :)

Advantages: Great stuff! Beats the hell out of the
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Oct 20, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I made real yogurt from this powder guys! Just reconstatute it then add to milk of your choice and warm for about 8 hours. Wow! I believe the shelf life is about 1 year for the powder, but if you put it in a vacuum sealed Mason jar it should last much longer. I may also keep it in my freezer and it should last indefinitely that way. This is a great way to provide yogurt for your family in times of living off a food storage!

Advantages: Make homemade yogurt!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Nov 13, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I ordered this product basically just to see what it was. I'd never heard of powdered heavy cream, and couldn't imagine what such a thing was like. Turns out, it's pretty convenient.This is basically heavy cream with all the water removed. I'm not sure what kind of magic makes this happen - but that's what's in the jar.You can reconstitute the heavy cream by adding about 1 part powder to roughly 2 parts water, blending for a bit, and then giving it time to chill and settle. The end result is basically indistinguishable from heavy cream right out of the carton. Since the heavy cream powder doesn't require refrigeration, it's handy to keep a jug in the cupboard just in case.I also routinely make a breakfast shake with heavy cream and peanut butter... Using this powdered heavy cream and some powdered peanut butter allows me to make a very portable shake - just add water.

Advantages: weird, but handy
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Nov 6, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Good to use in coffee if cream not available. Leaves some small particulate matter not dissolved but no big deal after stirring.

Advantages: Tasty
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Nov 15, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Bought it as a present for a back-packing friend who HAS to have his coffee in the morning, and who likes Half and Half. He mixed this with whole milk powder and said it is the closest he has found to having fresh half and half. (He mixes it up the night before and lets it sit overnight in the cold before using it.)

Advantages: Better than I expected!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Feb 2, 2017
I've tried several different types of malted milk powder and this is definitely the best tasting that I have found. WAY better than the store brand! The taste of this product takes me back to childhood days in the local malt shop. It has that rich malt flavor without the strange aftertaste of the store brand.

Advantages: The best that I have found so far and believe me, I have tried quite a few.

Disadvantages: I don't know what the shelf life is but mine expires in 6 months. Maybe I picked up an old one. These powdered products generally last far longer than their advertised shelf life if stored properly.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Matt Aragon about  Big Daddy Mac Mix, Original 1 lb:
Nov 15, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I like this product. I will be reordering.

Advantages: Will buy again.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Nov 9, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Tastes great. Gluten Free. Now I can add it to my gluten free pasta Barilla Gluten Free Pasta, Elbows, 12 Ounce (Pack of 12) and it tastes just like the kraft stuff. I sometimes add a little extra powder and some fresh grated cheddar but this is amazing stuff and worth it, for someone who either a) can no longer tolerate gluten, b) on a diet permitting it. It's a nice treat. You may want to mix it in a bowl first, to avoid clumping.

Advantages: Tastes great. Gluten Free
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Nov 2, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
My wife is a cereal junky and her favorite part is the marshmallows. I found these for her on Hoosier Hill Farm to add to her cereal. They are very good quality marshmallows and have just the right texture and taste that mimics the boxes cereal kind. They arrived really quickly.

Advantages: As Good As the Box
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Aug 20, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I was disappointed in the actual storage time of this pkg.(About one year) I thought it had a long storage life. I didn't plan on using this product real soon and now I am going to have to start using it so it will be used up the expiration date. Storage life info was not very clear. I would have given it a better rating had the storage life and the packaging info been more clear. After all that being said I have not opened this package yet so I cannot attest to the taste.

Disadvantages: I was disappointed in the actual storage time of this pkg
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (2)

Gift certificates