Agar Agar powder shaker, 4 Oz.

 
(8 reviews)  

5 stars
 5 review(s)
4 stars
 2 review(s)
3 stars
 1 review(s)
2 stars: 
 0 review(s)
1 stars: 
 0 review(s)

Please register to add a review, or sign in to your account and add your review!


Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
8 results found
Show results 1 - 8
M. Jones
Feb 22, 2014
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
in fact i made a complete mess. to use agar agar in cooking will take someone very practiced and know exactly how to substitute this for animal gelatin. this is, however, a really healthy form of gelatin.

Advantages: i don't have the knack for cooking with this powder.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Duffer.
Feb 11, 2014
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
After watching the movie "Forks Over Knives" I decided to try the vegan life style. I bought 10 vegan cookbooks and found a lot of recipes that required ingredients that I could not purchase locally or had even heard of such as this agar powder. So, I took out a second mortgage on my house and was able to buy this 4 ounce bottle of what is apparently ground up seaweed. I used the seaweed to make a vegan version of "cheese". Wen I finished I first tried it out on Max, my Dobie, who will stand on his head for a bit of real cheese. He would not eat this seaweed version. I decided to throw caution to the wind and sampled a bit of this Max reject. I completely agree with Max and the cheese and the seaweed hit the trash can. I am puzzled by the outrageous cost. I did not know there is a shortage of seaweed.As a result of this seaweed and other equally tasteless and highly expensive ingredients I have chosen to return to the life of a vegetarian. Far more tasty and far less expensive.

Advantages: Worked OK
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Claire
Feb 2, 2013
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I received this product recently (very fast shipping which was nice) but i'm disappointed the powder came in a bag instead of a bottle. But I weight the product and it was what was labeled (I had read reviews on other products complaining about that, it was not the case here). I've been using the powder and it works well.

Advantages: Came in a bag
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Hornbeam
Jun 21, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I've used a couple brands of agar and experiment with quantity. Because of the high cost, it's desirable to get the results you want with the least amount of the stuff. I make vegan cheese and find that 2 teaspoons of this brand of agar will set about 2 1/4 cups of liquid ingredients -- not superhard, but good enough (like soft cheese). It's fine in all respects: dissolves readily, doesn't affect the taste of my recipe. I recommend it.

Advantages: This agar gives good results
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jan
Aug 25, 2013
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Not sure what to say, it did the job of thickening my fake cheese product that I made with cashews.

Advantages: Agar agar
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
John --Hampton Roads
Jun 18, 2013
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I use this agar to make soy cheese. It works great for me. This is hard to find in local store. I just order it on line

Advantages: Agar is good
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Stefanie Winzeler
Jun 13, 2013
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This is a crucial ingredient for making homemade vegan 'cheese'. If you're thinking of trying to grind agar agar flakes into powder, trust me, it won't work. Or at least it won't be as good than if you drop the cash on the powder.

Advantages: Great for vegan cheese
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Mr. Green beam
Aug 30, 2012
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This is an outstanding product that sets up well. Would not hesitate to recommend to others or use this sellers services in the future. Fast shipping. Exactly what I was looking for!

Advantages: Outstanding product!!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Please register to add a review, or sign in to your account and add your review!
Gift certificates