Hoosier Hill Farm Nutritional Yeast Flakes, 1 Lb

 
(47 reviews)  

5 stars
 42 review(s)
4 stars
 5 review(s)
3 stars: 
 0 review(s)
2 stars: 
 0 review(s)
1 stars: 
 0 review(s)

Please register to add a review, or sign in to your account and add your review!


Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
47 results found
Show results 1 - 25
Hoosier Hill Farm Customer
Oct 21, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Product is just as described, I gave it four stars because it did not taste like the traditional nutritional/brewers yeast. Still does the same thing. Great to be able to buy it in 'bulk.'

Advantages: I gave it four stars because it did not taste like the traditional nutritional/brewers yeast
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
fred escalante
Sep 28, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
GOOD

Advantages: Four Stars
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Carla M
Sep 8, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
It was my first time trying this so when I first bought it and tasted it straight from the container, I did not like the taste at all. Made some vegan alfredo with it that came out wonderful and then topped some pizza with it and its awesome! I wouldnt eat it alone though.

Advantages: I did not like the taste at all
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
S. Blair
Aug 25, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This premium nutritional yeast is of excellent quality, and the price and service are good. I recommend it to anyone who does not need to be concerned about it being processed in a facility shared by treenuts, peanuts, dairy, soy and wheat products.

Advantages: This premium nutritional yeast is of excellent quality, and the price and service are good
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
P. Panchal
Jul 8, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Has a different flavor than I prefer from other brands but still love it!

Advantages: ... flavor than I prefer from other brands but still love it!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
TheBear!
Nov 14, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I used this to make a delicious vegan version of mac and cheese--it's fantastic and will fool anyone who doesn't know it's vegan.Creamy Vegan Mac and CheeseIngredients 16 oz. dried elbow or shell macaroni 1½ C. peeled/diced russet potatoes ½ C. peeled/diced carrots ½ C. chopped onion 1 C. water (preferably use liquid from pot of boiled veggies) ¾ C. raw cashews(soaked in water for 30 min) ½ C. coconut milk ½ C. nutritional yeast flakes 2 Tbs. lemon juice 1½ tsp. salt (or more to taste) ½ tsp. garlic powder 2 pinch cayenne pepper (optional) 2 pinch paprikaDirections1. Cook macaroni al dente, according to package instructions, drain, and set aside.2. Bring several C. of water to boil in a small pot.3. Place chopped potatoes, carrots, and onion in the boiling water, and cook for about 10 minutes, or until vegetables are tender and soft enough to blend.Cooking time will vary slightly, based on how small you have chopped your veggies.4. When veggies are soft enough to blend, use a slotted spoon to remove them from cooking water, and place them in your blender.5. Add 1 C. of that cooking water to your blender, along with your remaining ingredients.6. Blend until smooth.7. Pour sauce over your cooked macaroni noodles in a dish of your choice, taste for salt, and serve immediately.Or,place macaroni mixture in a baking dish, sprinkle with bread crumbs, and bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 15 minutes, or until crumbs are turning golden brown.

Advantages: ... make a delicious vegan version of mac and cheese--it's fantastic and will fool anyone who doesn't know it's vegan
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Suzy
Nov 13, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
By far the best tasting nutritional yeast I've tried! The closest thing to real cheese flavor, and excellent color and texture. I will buy this again for sure.

Advantages: By far the best tasting nutritional yeast I've tried
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Chris Hudgins
Nov 11, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I use quite a bit of baker's yeast in baking, and I always wondered about the taste of "nutritional" (deactivated) yeast. I bought this product more out of curiosity than anything else. I was pleasantly surprised. I have sprinkled (if you consider a couple of heaping tablespoons to be sprinkling) it on scrambled eggs, and mixed it into quinoa (which is pretty tasteless otherwise). I have seen recommendations for putting it on popcorn instead of salt. The description of the taste as "nutty and cheesy" is spot on. I will definitely buy this again!

Advantages: Nutty cheesy goodness!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Lorie McCormick
Nov 6, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
as expected

Advantages: Five Stars
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jennifer Edgar
Nov 5, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I haven't verified that this product is 100% vegan, non-GMO, etc etc...but I like it and I'm reordering it today. I avoid animal products, I make my own vegan cheeze sauce all the time and I go through a ton of this stuff. I sprinkle it on salads, pasta, rice, etc. It seems identical to Bragg's and the nooch I've bought in bulk at Sprouts or Whole Foods. First time I ordered, it came in a nice big plastic jar. Hopefully same for the second shot. I am told that this product is light-sensitive so I store it in a dark cabinet.

Advantages: So far so good!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Marty
Nov 1, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Great product. I like the large flakes. It seems less dusty than bulk, which I usually buy. I also like the clear, plastic container and large mouth opening. It's easy to see how much of the product is left and also easy to sticks measuring spoon or cup in without spilling.

Advantages: Great product. I like the large flakes
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Stephen
Oct 22, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Exactly what I needed and at a great price!

Advantages: Five Stars
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Mark Poulsen
Oct 19, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This stuff is awesome on pop corn! I picked up this jug and a dredges shaker which works great for applying. High in protein and tastes cheesy! I'm sure it goes great with other things too, but I haven't tried myself!

Advantages: Cheesy Protein!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
C. Saab
Oct 18, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
who needs cheese, well I'm sure some people do. If you are vegan this is a great product wonderful flavor. I put on popcorn,, of course a lot of other dishes too.

Advantages: One of favorite vegan staples
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Hoosier Hill Farm Customer
Oct 15, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Excellent value and so glad to be able to find these because none of my local stores carry this!

Advantages: Excellent value and so glad to be able to find ...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Good Gora
Oct 10, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Great product - especially useful in a lot of vegan recipes.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Donna Whitney
Oct 10, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
good stuff
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
E. Foster
Oct 10, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Love it, can't recommend it strongly enough its just such a great find. The nutritional yeast flakes taste like cheese. A real wonderful find for someone like me who is allergic to milk products or for vegans. I have made some great fake "Parmesan", "Cheddar" cheese, "butter" with it. Found the recipes on the Paleo vegan recipe site. I can also sprinkle the flakes onto eggs for great cheesie flavor without the calories.

Advantages: Great Natural Fake Cheese Flavoring
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Calvin
Oct 8, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This is the first time we have used this brand, but we plan on continuing ordering Hoosier Hill Yeast Flakes. The price is good and taste is excellent.

Advantages: Excellent Product
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Gerald C.
Oct 4, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I'm new to using nutritional yeast, tofu, and other products that can combine for meat substitutes and for many other uses, so I had no notion of what to expect, except that it would be yeast-like. It was, of course, but that doesn't tell you much of anything if you haven't used it before. The flavor is unique. Cheesy without tasting like cheese, but even that is a little misleading. It tastes like what it is, and that is actually quite good. Very complex flavor. Very satisfying. I will put it on popcorn, instead of salt, next time. I have been adding it to soups and sauces, as it seems to be in the umami class of flavors (MSG, mushrooms, etc.), which is to say it enhances without dominating. I am also using it with wheat gluten to make seitan, which is a vegetarian alternative to meat, and tossing tofu in the yeast and cornstarch before frying. (I dislike the term "meat substitute." They really don't sub for meat. They are alternative protein sources and should be good in their own right.) My impression is that it is a very wholesome product, very clean smelling. Nicely uniform flakes. And it does come in a resealable jar, even though someone seems to have been shipped a bag in the past. The price is good, beating competitors.

Advantages: New to this, like I am?
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
omega
Oct 2, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I was hesitant to purchase a brand I don't know of, but I go through Bragg's bottle so fast and even Sprouts here were sold out too. I needed them in bulk. I don't regret my purchase. Flakes are like Bragg's and the flavor, which I felt it's a little more cheesier than Bragg's. I love this one better! I didn't take the seal completely off. I tore a small section to create a spout. Worked perfectly!

Advantages: Better than Braggs
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Marcie
Sep 25, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I would give this 20+++ stars if I could. This stuff is great!!! Smells delightful, tastes even better! Great in vegan cheese sauce, sprinkled on popcorn, and adds great body to home made salad dressing. Also made and packaged with care by good folks in the mid-west what's not to love! I will most definitely be ordering this again!

Advantages: This stuff is great!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Hoosier Hill Farm Customer
Sep 24, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Excellent
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Alice Duncan
Sep 14, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I love this yeast - I put it on my popcorn and it is a delicious healthy snack!

Advantages: Delicious Healthy Snack
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Pooh
Aug 30, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Horrible smell but great product
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Please register to add a review, or sign in to your account and add your review!
Gift certificates