Hoosier Hill Farm Dry Malt (Diastatic) baking Powder 1.5 lb.

 
(30 reviews)  

5 stars
 26 review(s)
4 stars
 4 review(s)
3 stars: 
 0 review(s)
2 stars: 
 0 review(s)
1 stars: 
 0 review(s)

Please register to add a review, or sign in to your account and add your review!


Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
30 results found
Show results 1 - 25
david
Sep 19, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
only used it once for baguettes could say it rose to the occasion
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
ChevinKen
Aug 11, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
works! but wasn't sealed when received...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Hoosier Hill Farm Customer
Nov 3, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Does help browning.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Marlin Schrock
Oct 29, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Lets be honest. I bought this because of Chefsteps. Since receiving this I put it in EVERYTHING. Bread dough, Check! Pizza dough, Check! Waffles, Check! I'm even convinced that if I were to sprinkle it on my wife...

Advantages: Makes everything better!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
E. Anderson
Nov 12, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
While this is not an essential ingredient for bread, it sure does add an extra flavor that's wonderful! Most recipes call for only about a teaspoon or so, so this jar will last a very long time. Makes a novice bread maker look really good!

Advantages: An extra bit of flavor
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
LORRI D.
Oct 31, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This item works great for making my homemade Italian Bread. Nice flavor and very strong rise.

Advantages: Very Useful
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Zott
Oct 31, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I use this to make bagels and it works great!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
NicoleW
Oct 20, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Who knew this was the baker's secret? Use this for pizza dough too. It contains active enzymes which help break down some of the starches in flour, turning them into sugars that feed the yeast. You end up with the browned crust and it's a subtle sweet flavor that you find in craft pizzas. Delicious!!!

Advantages: You end up with the browned crust and it's a subtle sweet flavor that you find in craft pizzas
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Hoosier Hill Farm Customer
Oct 18, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Amazing "add" which made my husband's bread baking look like a pro. He struggled at first w/ dense loaves but w/o changing anything else; his loaves are perfect, light since adding a quarter tsp. Awesome!!

Advantages: Amazing add which made my husband's bread baking look like ...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Quidrilas L. Kelly
Oct 16, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I purchased this for the purpose of pizza making. My crust was having trouble browning so I gave this this a try.MAJOR difference,The 1st photo is without diastatic malt.2nd and 3rd photo are the results of using diastatic malt powder in my pizza.It also made the crust crispier, worth every penny, a little goes a very long way.

Advantages: Great For Pizza Making
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Hoosier Hill Farm Customer
Oct 16, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I love it.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Master Joel ~~
Oct 12, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
French bread is one of the most difficult things to make. I took a cooking class and we used this type of dry malt baking powder and it is awesome.

Advantages: French bread lovers unite
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Monina S. Naylor
Oct 11, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Works for me. My baked goods such as croissants, Danishes, breads, etc... Has a beautiful color.One of the review said she keeps it in the freezer and since I keep my yeast and nuts frozenI will be keeping my powder in the freezer for longer shelf life too.

Advantages: Happy customer
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
J
Oct 8, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I make better read now!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Friend of the Avocado
Sep 9, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Good malts! I've been using them for pizza dough and they've turned out really well. Shipping was fast.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Stephen Sykes
Aug 22, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This product makes homemade bread taste like an artisan loaf. As little as a teaspoon per pound of flour is transformational.

Advantages: The secret for artisan bread
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Joe in Brigantine, NJ
Aug 5, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Diastatic malt powder is a must for slow/long rising dough recipies. I've used it for years with great success. The product arrived promptly and well packaged. The wide mouth container is definitely an advantage that Hoosier Hill Farm provides over the usual bag packaging others provide. No need to have a special container you provide yourself. Just open the jar, unseal it the first time, screw the lid on firmly when done and store it!

Advantages: Packaging Matters!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Marianne Born
Aug 5, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Great.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Candace Brenner
Jul 24, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Great flavor to my pizza dough! Convenient storage as well.

Advantages: Making killer pizza dough!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
A. Nauman
Jul 17, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
exactly what i was looking for!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
melissa haider
Jul 15, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I AM HAPPY WITH IT
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Hoosier Hill Farm Customer
Jul 11, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Awesome
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
delicateflower152
Jul 6, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
The bagels available locally are simply bagel-shaped bread, so I have to make my own. The chewy crust is one of the hardest aspects of a “real” bagel to obtain. I found diastatic malt powder not only helped to obtain that very desirable characteristic, but also aided in getting the perfect browning of the crust. When making bagels, I add 40 grams of diastatic malt powder to the dry ingredients. I have also started adding malt powder to my French bread and to my Rustic Country bread, resulting in more authentic crust texture and appearance.“Hoosier Hill Farm Dry Malt (Diastatic) Baking Powder” is shipped in a clear plastic jar that can be stored in the refrigerator. The 6 ½” tall jar fits in most standard refrigerator shelves.Although diastatic malt powder is available online from other retailers, the $6 shipping cost – for 1 lb. - makes that pound of their product more expensive than “Hoosier Hill Farm Dry Malt (Diastatic) Baking Powder 1.5 lb”. At the time I purchased it, the cost for the 1 1/2 lb. jar was $10.99.I am very pleased to have found Hoosier Farm’s products on Hoosier Hill Farm since their dry malt powder was exactly what I needed. Now, I can continue baking and enjoying my favorite breakfast treat and artisan breads.

Advantages: For Making Those Perfect Crusty Artisan Breads and Bagels ...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Candy Fiedler
Jul 5, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Nice! Just what I needed!

Advantages: Nice! Just what I needed
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Sue Ellen Greenfield
Jun 26, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I really wanted powdered Malted Milk, not Baking Malt. I called Hooser Hill Farm and they sent me Malted Milk without further charge. I was very grateful for such kind service. The powdered Malted Milk is wonderful!!!

Advantages: Great Customer Service!!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Please register to add a review, or sign in to your account and add your review!
Gift certificates