Hoosier Hill Farm Clear Jel (cook-type), 1.5 Lbs.

 
(98 reviews)  

5 stars
 91 review(s)
4 stars
 6 review(s)
3 stars
 1 review(s)
2 stars: 
 0 review(s)
1 stars: 
 0 review(s)

Please register to add a review, or sign in to your account and add your review!


Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
98 results found
Show results 1 - 25
Christine B. Norman
Aug 31, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I bought the cook type clear-jel for canning my apple pie filling. It worked perfectly, I inadvertently ordered the instant clear-jel on the next order and it was chaotic to say the least. Could never get rid of the little pieces of jel that would never dissolve. PLEASE be sure to use the cook style for less stress in canning. I am sure the instant would be good for gravies so for that reason I will give it 3 stars.

Advantages: I am sure the instant would be good for gravies so for that reason I will give ...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
frances slotman
Nov 7, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
It worked great

Advantages: Four Stars
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
James Hamner
Oct 15, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Used it to make apple pie filling prior to canning. I can't wait to try it.

Advantages: Happy!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
TAB
Sep 29, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Great product. My peach piemail filling came out perfectly.

Advantages: Four Stars
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Faustina Winkles
Aug 11, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This stuff works great...far better than regular cornstarch. I would recommend that you dissolved the ClearJel in water to make a slurry first before adding to your hot fruit mixture, as it will form dry clumps that are next to impossible to stir out if adding just the measured amount dry.

Advantages: This stuff works great..
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
sherry
Nov 2, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
it worked liked they said it would

Advantages: Four Stars
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Hoosier Hill Farm Customer
Oct 23, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Used to can apple pie filling. It worked great.

Advantages: It worked great.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Rudax
Nov 16, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
It worked wonderfully for my apple pie filling that I canned!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Margo B.
Nov 14, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I used this for preparing apple pie filling to can. This is the 2nd time that I have ordered it and it worked great!

Advantages: Worked like a charm
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Lambma
Nov 13, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This makes the most beautiful canned apple pie filling. It doesn't clump or change color. Instead the filling is as pretty as when you first cook it and jar it.

Advantages: Excellent for canned apple pie filling
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
SPENCER
Nov 12, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Great Product, Great Price, Delivered as stated, Thank You
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Hoosier Hill Farm Customer
Nov 7, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I found a need for this product when I wanted to can apples for pie filling. I was pleasantly surprised when it worked as advertised - no lumps! Now my mind has been working overtime thinking of more ways to use this in the kitchen.

Advantages: Works as advertised
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
BoxerLover
Nov 6, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Looking to make great-tasting pie filling....then this is your product. I always wondered how people got their filling to look so appetizing and now I know..it is the clear jel.

Advantages: Makes a great pie filling.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
erj
Nov 6, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Worked like a charm in my apple pie filling!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Hoosier Hill Farm Customer
Nov 5, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Don't know how I would have gotten through canning season without it. Mixes easily and well, no need to mix separately. Great stuff.

Advantages: Canning and pie essential
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Steve Schneider
Oct 27, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
My mom does a lot of canning, and this worked great for her! Cheap and effective, we got 2 of these, and they should last us at least six hours. (kidding) but yeah, great product, get it!

Advantages: and this worked great for her
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Hoosier Hill Farm Customer
Oct 26, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Used for canning apple pie filling, worked great.

Advantages: worked great.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Kimberlee Fish
Oct 26, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This is the First time I have ever used this Clear Jel. I purchased it to make canned apple pie filling. This is awesome. I now use it for everything that I cook and want to thicken. Highly recommend this item!!!!!

Advantages: This is awesome. I now use it for everything that I ...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Rebecca Hendrick
Oct 26, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
great
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Sharon Diehl
Oct 24, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Great product as advertised
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Catherine E Nielsen
Oct 24, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Clear Jel was actually what I needed to make my Apple pie filling
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Shirley A. Walrod
Oct 22, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Excellent product. Worth the cost.

Advantages: Better than regular cornstarch
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Hoosier Hill Farm Customer
Oct 22, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
As expected. Will order again.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
William V Markey
Oct 21, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
We made peach pie with this and it worked perfectly
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Audra Galiano
Oct 21, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
We used the clear jel to prepare our Apple pie filling and we water-bath canned 2 pecks of apples this year. I resisted the last few years buying the "cook type" jel because it was so hard to source locally. Found this on Hoosier Hill Farm and just bought it after struggling again with canning. Its a huge difference. The instant is great when you're cooking and need it right away. The packaging was great, the container is nice. Would be nice if I could buy a "refill" type bag in order to retain the plastic container when I have to buy more. I'll be buying again!

Advantages: Pie Filling necessity
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Please register to add a review, or sign in to your account and add your review!
Gift certificates