Hoosier Hill Farm Instant Clear Jel, 1.5 Lbs.

 
(29 reviews)  

5 stars
 27 review(s)
4 stars
 2 review(s)
3 stars: 
 0 review(s)
2 stars: 
 0 review(s)
1 stars: 
 0 review(s)

Please register to add a review, or sign in to your account and add your review!


Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
29 results found
Show results 1 - 25
shopper
Aug 26, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This works great for thickening sauces, dressings, stews, soups jellies, etc... Works great, but beware on using too much. Add a little at a time. A little goes a long way.

Advantages: Great thickener
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Lynn Marie Thomas
Aug 8, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I made fresh strawberry freezer jam!!Turned out fantastic!!😊

Advantages: Turned out fantastic!! 😊
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Tipmax
Jun 9, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Clear Jel is great for canning fruit. Love it.

Advantages: Great stuff
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Nina O.
Jun 8, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Worked great for my apple jam
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
bshsimmons
Jun 3, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I use this too for my Instant vanilla pudding mix.

Advantages: Best jel
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
AZ Reader
Oct 25, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Wonderful stuff, fixes jams and sauces that turned out thin and can be added individually to portions for my griping friend who insists on "thicker!"

Advantages: It really works! Hallelujah!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
J. Kirksey
Nov 12, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I use a lot of Clear Jel, both the instant and the cook type for various pies I create. The instant is a wonderful product for your fruit fillings. Simply blend Clear Jel with the sugar and add to your fresh fruit. The amount you use will depend on whatever fruit you are using, I usually use 2 1/2-3 Tbs for apple filling and up to 5 Tbs for other fillings such as blackberry, strawberry etc, you'll need to experiment to get the firmness in the filling you desire. If you find your filling is too stiff, add a bit of water and fold it in to get the consistency you desire. The cook type is fantastic for pastry cream and various other cream fillings. Regular cornstarch can breakdown and get watery, Clearjel doesnt. Another great quality of cook type Clearjel is that what you see is what you get, that thickness you get on the stove is the same thickness you'll get after refrigeration. In fact, once it reaches it's thickened state while cooking, your done so you wont have the worry of overcooking your filling. I've used Hoosier Hill Farms Clearjel in the past and have always been more than pleased with the quality of their products. I consider their 1 1/2 lb container a great value and with the plastic jug I don't need to provide a container ( I purchased a LOT of containers for various ingredients). I highly recommend both these products and I will continue to be a repeat customer.

Advantages: Pie Maker's Magic Dust
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Nancy Walz
Oct 14, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Was happy with this product.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Patricia A. Foote
Aug 17, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This stuff is amazing, wouldn't can pie filling without it.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
M Elliott
Aug 9, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I purchased the Hoosier Hill Farm Instant clear gel for use in canning of apples as pie filling. I have a canning recipe for fruit pie and cobbler filling that called for Clear Jel. What a great product! Very easy to use when mixed with the dry ingredients. Also great for making your own strawberry gel for pies. Doesn't take a lot so bottle last a while (depending on your canning needs) I really love this stuff, has helped me to can many jars of pie and cobbler filling. A+

Advantages: Instant clear gel - Awesome for making and canning pie fillings
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
daisybengal
Aug 4, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I love this stuff for canning peaches
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Flower Fanatic
Jul 20, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
works like a charm
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
insomar
Jul 18, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Very pleasantly surprised by this product. Made the best blueberry pie ever.

Advantages: Excellent
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
William
Jul 13, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Bought this to thicken up some home-made yogurt. I experimented with amounts of sugar to mix it with so that it doesn't clump, and have had no problems with a 1:1 ratio (2.5 tbsp of Clearjel and 2.5 tbsp of sugar to a quart of yogurt).

Advantages: Works great for home-made yogurt
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Marilyn Maynard
Aug 31, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
While I didn't mean to order instant Clear Jel, it is working out quite well. I am pleased with the purchase.

Advantages: I am pleased with the purchase
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
R. Potter
Aug 23, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
As described
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Sharon V. Richardson
Aug 11, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
It's a great product. Use it in place of cornstarch for thickening, and it works so much better.

Advantages: Great product
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Rahw13
Jul 17, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Packaging was perfect and the product was sealed and fresh. Very pleased and will be ordering again.

Advantages: Product was Fresh!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Stephanie Hall
Jul 6, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This clear gel is excellent and made great pie filling!! It thickens very fast and needs a bit more water than expected, but it was great!

Advantages: This clear gel is excellent and made great pie filling
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
wefishallday
Jun 27, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This Clear Jel is great stuff! There don't seem to be a lot of recipes on how to use it well in various ways so I've been experimenting with both this Instant Clear Jel and the one that requires cooking. Of the 2 - I like this one the best as you can determine the thickness of the final product instantly. I don't can foods, but I do make Berry Pies and this is absolutely perfect for making pies. You have to adjust the amount you use to the "type" of fruit, Fresh or Frozen fruit, the amount of fruit and the ripeness of the fruit as some fruits produce more juice than others -- but it's now my go-to thickener for berry pies. I particularly like its texture - and you can instantly make it as thick or thin as you want. BEST - you don't have to cook it. Wonderful blackberry pie!!! I first precook my own homemade pie shell - let it cool. Once the shell is cool, I sweeten fresh or frozen blackberries (I prefer frozen) with Sugar till thawed and juicy - about an hour. Then I add (1 T at a time) the Clear Jel to the Berry/Juice/Sugar Mixture and gently stir it. It thickens up immediately - no cooking. For a firm set pie (doesn't run) I use the full 3 T of Clear Jel for Berries that fill of the 9.5" pie shell. If you want it thinner, somewhat juicier or more runny, just add less till it's the texture you like. It holds up wonderfully in the Refrigerator as well.

Advantages: THE BEST UNCOOKED BLACKBERRY PIE using Clear Jel
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
creekside-2
Sep 18, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Great product.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Mary Lee
Sep 9, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Great for canning salsa!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
JoAnne Lee
Sep 8, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Very good quality at a very good price
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Hoosier Hill Farm Customer
Sep 25, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Make some fantastic apple pie filling to can. Holds up to max heating with canning and cooking. Neighbors raved about my apple pie filling. Had to make pints, too, so some could eat it straight while others cooked it in pies.

Advantages: Works great. Will keep using it each fall.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Hoosier Hill Farm Customer
Nov 5, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I use this for making my own instant pudding. Far better than any thickener I have tried.

Advantages: Every cook needs this
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Please register to add a review, or sign in to your account and add your review!
Gift certificates