Hoosier Hill Farm Porcini Mushroom Powder 1 pound

 
(16 reviews)  

5 stars
 14 review(s)
4 stars
 2 review(s)
3 stars: 
 0 review(s)
2 stars: 
 0 review(s)
1 stars: 
 0 review(s)

Please register to add a review, or sign in to your account and add your review!


Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
16 results found
Show results 1 - 16
SPS
Oct 10, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This shipped quickly and well wrapped. I enjoy using a bit of the powder to enhance my recipes that need a little bit of earthiness to kick the flavor up a notch. Pastas, proteins and vegetable dishes have all benefitted from using this.

Advantages: I enjoy using a bit of the powder to enhance my ...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
HOMEWORK
Apr 8, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Nicely prepared powder with no apparent dirt grit or other foreign objects. Cooking with this powder takes my meals to a different level. Coat some scallops with salt/pepper and then this powder before pan frying in some oil and a little butter...YUM! Add a teaspoon to a cream sauce...YUM! Good stuff!!

Advantages: Good quality
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
TT
Nov 17, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
No one can duplicate many of the things I make. Adds a depth of flavor that you can't get without it.

Advantages: This is my secret ingredient.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
R. Wells
Sep 4, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
If you don't have time to let it cook and steep out the wonderful flavor then don't bother. I think the bad reviews are from people who may not know how to use the product. This is not instant mushroom flavor like adding powdered bullion. Put it in at the start of the cooking process and give it time to cook and steep and mature and you will be well rewarded.

Advantages: I think the bad reviews are from people who may not know how to use the product.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
timisthemenace
Aug 29, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
A+++
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Livi Tothe
Aug 15, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Makes everything with mushroom in it very tasty!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jane
Aug 6, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
My little nephew really loves tomato soup, but my love for most things tomato does not extend to this. Until I threw in a teaspoon of this stuff into the last batch I made. Wow. This really improves most savory food items. I have yet to use it in rice, but am looking forward to those results. The container is a bit pricey, but relative to the cost of fresh porcinis, and the lack of having to go through dirt and grubs, this is well-worth the price. Plus, a little goes a long way and I can see this lasting a year, even with regular use.

Advantages: Magic in a Resealable Container!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
N. Albert
Jul 24, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This stuff makes people think I'm a fantastic cook. My husband changed his mind about divorcing me.It also goes very far and is the best choice for the price. It's more dense than the competition.

Advantages: Marriage Saved
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Mickey Fearn
Jul 2, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I used it in a rub. Perfect flavor and texture.

Advantages: Perfect flavor and texture
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
David
Jun 22, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Great product. Shipped as promised, packaged well and secure. Adds wonderful flavor to menu items needing depth of flavor when time is of the essence. I was surprised, but I was sold when they used mushroom powder on my favorite cooking "kitchen" show. Great Quality!

Advantages: Time saver, compliment getter!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
RODNEY DEMOTT
May 11, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Mixing a tablespoon or so of this mushroom powder into your gravy mix adds richness, depth and complexity.

Advantages: Porcini Mushroom Powder
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
noki
May 7, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I went to the forest with my grandmother to pick porcine, when I was a child. I loved the adventures and after the cooking part and eating part also!This producte brings back all of those memories, great taste, excellent price. We love it! Use it all the time, in omelets, sauces and many more!

Advantages: I loved the adventures and after the cooking part and eating ...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
MBL
Apr 17, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
A little goes a long way, but WOW! I just added to some Lentil soup that just needed something - this brought it to a whole new level, and I only used about tablespoon for the whole pot (1 lb. lentils). The powder is nice and fine, and does not clump when you add to hot liquid.

Advantages: A little goes a long way
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Cat from Belmont
Apr 14, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I got this last June, about 10 months ago, and have been dipping into the opened jar (stored at room temperature) ever since. It's a great addition to soups, sauces, anywhere you would like an additional layer of earthy umami goodness. I use it as a spice, to taste, added during the final phases of cooking. For a big pot of simmered stew, maybe a tablespoon or more. It's good in Asian cooking too. Or omelettes. Or chili. Or.... you get it. I make a killer pork/rice/ginger stew (jook) and include about a tsp of this. Seems to hold up well stored at room temperature; the powder is not sticking together or seeming to lose flavor so far.

Advantages: Magic umami powder, use it all the time
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Marissa Joilette
Apr 7, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Great stuff! I put it in all my soups, gravies and savory grains. Excellent product!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Maggie May
Apr 21, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Makes a great addition to soups, gravies, sauces, etc.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Please register to add a review, or sign in to your account and add your review!
Gift certificates