Hoosier Hill Farm Gourmet Mushroom Popcorn, 3 lb.

 
(27 reviews)  

5 stars
 15 review(s)
4 stars
 10 review(s)
3 stars
 2 review(s)
2 stars: 
 0 review(s)
1 stars: 
 0 review(s)

Please register to add a review, or sign in to your account and add your review!


Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
27 results found
Show results 1 - 25
ms
Aug 31, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Too many little kernael cover thingys.

Disadvantages: Not so much
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
L. Fink
Jul 21, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
It pops up okay, but there are still too many unpopped kernels and, oh my, the HULLS. The popped corn are nice big mushroom size, but trying to knock off all the kernels is a pain. I was hoping to use this popcorn for my caramel corn, but it will be too much work trying to clean up a batch well enough to use. I continue my search for the perfect popcorn.

Disadvantages: Oh, my, the HULLS
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Josh
Nov 5, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Fairly large popcorn, but I didn't find it to be any larger than regular store brand mushroom popcorn. I will say that I use an air popper and only have 2-3 kernels that don't pop out of a 1/2 cup.

Advantages: Fairly large popcorn, but I didn't find it to ...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Matthew Lab
Oct 16, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
A nice product, with large kernels that far surpasses standard popcorn from the grocery store. My only complaint would be that the popped corn is not as uniform and round as the type found in street fair kettle corn.

Advantages: A nice product, with large kernels that far surpasses standard ...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jack L. Landers
Oct 15, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Tried one popper full for test run and they popped great. I am excited to see how it turns out on my caramel corn recipe.That is the reason I purchased the mushroom corn.

Advantages: Pops great!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Karen Drennen
Oct 5, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Pretty nice popcorn overall. Pops up well if you really heat up that oil. I find using a peanut or sunflower oil works best for the greatest popped to unpopped kernel ratio. The bag however was torn when I received the package and there seemed to be alot of popcorn "dust" in the bag. It did not seem to effect the product, so that's not too big a deal. I would likely buy this product again. But do keep in mind if purchasing that this type of popcorn is best when used for coating or for kettle corn. If you are looking for popcorn to munch on with a movie, I would stick with a regular store bought type of corn.

Advantages: Pretty nice popcorn
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jan K.
Aug 31, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Popcorn okay, does not seem to have a lot of mushroom kernals. Will not buy again.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Rob
Aug 10, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Love it.

Advantages: Just great
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
W. Brinson
Aug 8, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
It was our first time trying mushroom popcorn at home. We did not know what to expect. There was a small percentage of imperfect kernels, but generally we had very good results. Not much flavor but we salt and butter anyway. We would buy again.

Advantages: We would buy again
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Melissa
Oct 13, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Really great true mushroom popcorn, does have a lot of hulls though. I've been popping it in air popper but it's recommended to do it with oil on stove top. I might try that next time to see if it helps at all. Hulls aside, still great popcorn. I'm excited to try it with caramel corn, much hardier than traditional popcorn so it should hold up better.

Advantages: great popcorn
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Tuna
Sep 4, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I believe this is the best variety of popcorn. The popped corn are very large, and mostly bulbous, which is the same as movie theater corn.Sometimes the hulls fall right off during the heating process so that you end up with a very large hulless piece. Even at worst the popcorn is so large that the hull is less of an inconvenience.Even though I like the baby "Lady Finger" popcorn, the mushroom type is preferable to me. I've only tried two manufacturers, but Hoozier Hill is so good I don't feel the need to experiment. .You might try Trader Joe's butter oil spray for extra flavor.

Advantages: Best Of The Best.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Hoosier Hill FarmChar
Sep 3, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
We overall love the tast and size of the mushroom popcorn but found too many hulls remaining after popping. Is this usual for Mushroom Popcorn? Signed "New to the MUSHROOM popcorn circuit"

Advantages: Good eating/ too many hulls; Buyer beware
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Robert Verran
Nov 12, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
very pleased with the product. It is just like the popcorn they use in kettle corn.

Advantages: very pleased
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Pork Snausage
Nov 11, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I'm a little too serious about popcorn, and this is hands-down the best I've ever made. Big, fat, flavorful kernels, and nearly all of them pop. If that's not your experience, it will be helpful to consider that mushroom kernels behave differently than typical ("butterfly") kernels...You need a higher heat and possibly a different oil. I've found it essential to avoid steam buildup. You don't need to a new process for popping mushroom kernels on the stovetop, you just need to be more specific with the process you have. You'll have a few rounds of trial-and-error, so make a few small batches before committing to something epic. IT'S ABSOLUTELY WORTH IT. Mushroom kernels are vastly superior, and Hoosier Farms is especially fresh.Suggestions: Keep your kernels in the freezer until you're ready to test the oil, and pop. (They'll pop bigger.) If you're determined to use the microwave for popcorn, I think mushroom kernels would be a waste of money since all microwave popcorn tastes the same; also, I suspect it would have a low pop rate, though I don't know for certain. Lastly, if you use industrial seasonings like Flavocal, add it TO THE OIL before popping, not a sprinkling afterwards. A little goes a long way.Don't give up on mushroom kernels! Once you get your stovetop process down, nearly every kernel will pop, and you won't want to go back to those old-school butterfly kernels.

Advantages: Not happy? Try a different approach. You'll be glad you did.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Leslie
Oct 31, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Perfect big round fluffy kernels for my Zebra Caramel Corn.

Advantages: Big & fluffy
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Hoosier Hill Farm Customer
Oct 31, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I usually buy a different brand but this one was prime. Popped as will as the other brand with our air popper. Popped 35 quarts from a 3 pound bag. Diffently mushroom popcorn. My advise is always use a Kernel Katcher to remove hulls and unpopped kernels.

Advantages: As advertised
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Mark Kuhlmann
Oct 24, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This is really great popcorn. It makes nice balls of mushroom popcorn that have spoiled me for regular popcorn. This is so much more flavorful and once popped, lasts longer than regular popcorn. If you love your popcorn, then you owe it yourself to try this. However, be warned, once you do, it you will no longer enjoy regular popcorn nearly as much.

Advantages: This is really great popcorn. It makes nice balls of mushroom popcorn ...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Judi Williams
Aug 30, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Exactly what I wanted. A softer popped corn than the kind we have used for years. Need to learn to use less as it tends to pop into larger kernels.

Advantages: Great Buy
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jkdmo
Aug 29, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This is the best popcorn I've had in years. Goes great with coconut oil.

Advantages: Best popcorn ever
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Coal Tired
Aug 23, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Nice big kernels. Pops easily in my popper. Good texture. Just as advertised - mushroom head.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
mkp
Aug 16, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This is the best popcorn EVER!!! It pops us to these huge, round kernals and the flavor is just fantastic. Usually "real" popped popcorn (versus microwaved from a bag) is just my treat, but now my kids are popping this up, so we've gone through this giant bag really fast.

Advantages: Really, really good popcorn
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Santiago Valenzuela
Aug 13, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
They seem like a big ordinay kernel, but once they pop and give you big popcorn spheres and a lot of flavor, that is when you see the magic,

Advantages: They seem like a big ordinay kernel
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
A. Lawson
Jul 7, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Have bought this product multiple times. LOVE IT. Nice fluffy kernels for regular popcorn or kettle corn if you know how to make it.

Advantages: Great Product!!!!!!!!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Randall Tong
Jun 17, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Nice and fluffy popcorn. Some of them come out as butterfly popcorn hardly noticeable.

Advantages: Puffy
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Shoe lover
Jun 12, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Love it

Advantages: great taste
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Please register to add a review, or sign in to your account and add your review!
Gift certificates