Hoosier Hill Farm Heavy Cream Powder Jar, 1 Pound

 
(40 reviews)  

5 stars
 30 review(s)
4 stars
 8 review(s)
3 stars
 2 review(s)
2 stars: 
 0 review(s)
1 stars: 
 0 review(s)

Please register to add a review, or sign in to your account and add your review!


Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
40 results found
Show results 1 - 25
e
Nov 13, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I ordered this product basically just to see what it was. I'd never heard of powdered heavy cream, and couldn't imagine what such a thing was like. Turns out, it's pretty convenient.This is basically heavy cream with all the water removed. I'm not sure what kind of magic makes this happen - but that's what's in the jar.You can reconstitute the heavy cream by adding about 1 part powder to roughly 2 parts water, blending for a bit, and then giving it time to chill and settle. The end result is basically indistinguishable from heavy cream right out of the carton. Since the heavy cream powder doesn't require refrigeration, it's handy to keep a jug in the cupboard just in case.I also routinely make a breakfast shake with heavy cream and peanut butter... Using this powdered heavy cream and some powdered peanut butter allows me to make a very portable shake - just add water.

Advantages: weird, but handy
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Patrick Campbell
Nov 6, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Good to use in coffee if cream not available. Leaves some small particulate matter not dissolved but no big deal after stirring.

Advantages: Tasty
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Mad Hen
Nov 15, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Bought it as a present for a back-packing friend who HAS to have his coffee in the morning, and who likes Half and Half. He mixed this with whole milk powder and said it is the closest he has found to having fresh half and half. (He mixes it up the night before and lets it sit overnight in the cold before using it.)

Advantages: Better than I expected!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Jeff Weeden
Nov 17, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Great product
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Kellie
Sep 2, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
It's okay, I was surprised that it tastes a little salty. Probably OK for baking, but I wouldn't mix it up to put in coffee or use in liquid form.

Advantages: Okay.

Disadvantages: A little salty
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Joyce
Oct 30, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Thank you I think this will come in handy rather than running to the store...

Advantages: Good stuff
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Kathy Burton
Sep 19, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Love using it in my coffee rather than chemical creamers. I recommend it, good flavor.

Advantages: Good for coffee
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Emma
Aug 16, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Haven't used yet but glad I have it!

Advantages: Heavy crm powder
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
jcobb
Jul 11, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
excellent and economical to have on hand for sauces, and many recipes.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
CLOY
Aug 27, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Rich but not as creamy as fresh cream.

Advantages: Easy baking ingredient
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Mary
Aug 27, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This arrived and appears as I imagined. I just can't give it a excellent rating as it's for the shelf and for emergency food storage, one day after zombies attack, I'll make a delicious soup and if I'm unhappy with the results - I'll amend my rating.

Advantages: I just can't give it a excellent rating as it's for the shelf and for emergency ...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Andrea Richards
Oct 30, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
As a low carber, there aren't any creamer options unless you're willing to take a pint of heavy whipping cream to work. This is exactly what I needed to stash in my desk drawer for coffee, chai, even cream of chicken soup when combined with bullion.

Advantages: As a low carber, there aren't any creamer options ...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
D. L. Merritt
Oct 26, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Great way to have a long shelf-life product when you only use a bit at a time.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Bean
Oct 22, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Excellent tasting cream. I use it in my coffee. It's better than the other powdered creams. I enjoy the taste of it and the milk so much that I'll be ordering again.

Advantages: Try it you wont be disappointed
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
m Johnson
Oct 21, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
love the taste especially when mixed with nonfat milk.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Hoosier Hill Farm Customer
Oct 16, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Very easy to use and better for future use.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Joy Morris 1
Oct 11, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Nice in my hot coco mix
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Shawny B
Oct 9, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This totally works for me, I love to have it on hand if I am making something, but hate to keep buying it at the store and only use a little. Since I am a single person I try to not waste too much food. This has helped

Advantages: Great for those of us that are single and don't use a whole container.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
D.G.G.
Oct 8, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
More than satisfactory. I purchased it for coffee when camping, but it has already come in handy otherwise, by eliminating the need to run out for cream for a recipe (or coffee for the next morning). It rehydrates nicely, stirred into warm water, but should sit a bit for best flavor and texture. (I didn't add it directly to hot coffee.) Rehydrated w/ water, then mixed w/ milk, it makes a fine 'half-n-half'. When I tasted it immediately after mixing with water the first time, it had a pronounced salty flavor, so pronounced that I added a couple of pinches of sugar to offset. I now think the salty taste was a funtion of not letting the product reydrate/ flavors integrate enough before tasting. The instructions actually say to let it sit overnight in the fridge before using, but I've only done that once, and that was after I used it to make half-n-half.There's no comparison between this and a non-dairy creamer. This functions like the real thing.

Advantages: Exceeded my expectations.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
patti denicola
Oct 5, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
this tasted like cream
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
W. M. Resnik
Oct 2, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I make coffee at my desk and since the work refrigerator is a biology experiment, I've been using Hoosier Hill Farm Heavy Cream Powder as my creamer. It is very difficult to get it to dissolve easily with just a spoon. You can do it, but it takes some time to stir it in and get rid of the clumps. However, I found that if you use something like the MatchaDNA Handheld Electric Milk Frother, also sold at Hoosier Hill Farm for <$10, it dissolves quickly and completely. I can't think of a way it could have worked better for my needs.This cream tastes wonderful in coffee once it gets whipped in. No taste difference in coffee from regular heavy cream and much more convenient! I've ordered it twice now.

Advantages: Great Coffee Creamer - but needs help dissolving
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Diane B. Bowden
Sep 28, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Plan to use this in a sweet potato casserole recipe. Our local cafeteria chef told me that they use this in their sweet potato casserole and it makes a really creamy consistency. Can't wait to try it on our church supper this weekend.

Advantages: Plan to use this in a sweet potato casserole recipe
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
SJ
Sep 25, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This is excellent. Great in coffee. I bought it to have when I was short on cream etc. You won't be disappointed!

Advantages: This is excellent. Great in coffee
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
wifezilla
Sep 15, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Great way to have a stash of heavy cream for tea and coffee at work without having to trust the company refrigerator.

Advantages: Great way to have a stash of heavy cream for ...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
N. Huffman
Sep 5, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I am excited to own this, as sometimes you can not get to the store to purchase regular heavy cream

Advantages: a substitute for heavy cream
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Please register to add a review, or sign in to your account and add your review!
Gift certificates