Big Daddy Mac mix 1 lb

 
(24 reviews)  

5 stars
 18 review(s)
4 stars
 4 review(s)
3 stars
 2 review(s)
2 stars: 
 0 review(s)
1 stars: 
 0 review(s)

Please register to add a review, or sign in to your account and add your review!


Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
24 results found
Show results 1 - 24
Wendy Cook
Nov 17, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I can't believe someone bottles and sells the orange-y cheese-y powder-y stuff that comes in the mac & cheese box! Ok, maybe not the EXACT same stuff, but it TASTES like the same exact stuff. Man. I was raised on it and even though I am all grownup and enjoy a rather diverse field of epicurean delights... I gotta say, on occasion, I needs my mac & cheese and, god-help-me, a fried spam sandwich. It only hits once or twice a year, but when it hits, it hits hard. Gots to have it. And this is the PERFECT addition. I now get to make my mac & cheese as cheese-y as I dreamed of making it when I was a tiny tot shaking the silver envelope to get out every last bit. Seeing this, being able to buy it and keep it on my shelf, makes me happy I am an adult. It allows me, just for a moment, to fulfill a much longed-for fantasy with ease and (I admit it) just a tiny feeling of naughtiness. 5 starts, Hoosier Hill Farm, for giving me a wonderful, semi-annual experience.

Advantages: I am.... The All-Powerful Queen of the Envelope Cheese! Muah ha ha ha!!!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Hoosier Hill Farm Customer
Nov 9, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This product is very close to the Kraft cheese powder product and I have been enjoying it. Give it a try!

Advantages: This product is very close to the Kraft cheese powder ...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Matt Aragon
Nov 15, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I like this product. I will be reordering.

Advantages: Will buy again.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Nikita
Nov 9, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Tastes great. Gluten Free. Now I can add it to my gluten free pasta Barilla Gluten Free Pasta, Elbows, 12 Ounce (Pack of 12) and it tastes just like the kraft stuff. I sometimes add a little extra powder and some fresh grated cheddar but this is amazing stuff and worth it, for someone who either a) can no longer tolerate gluten, b) on a diet permitting it. It's a nice treat. You may want to mix it in a bowl first, to avoid clumping.

Advantages: Tastes great. Gluten Free
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
BL Meyer
Nov 16, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
OK product, but funny cheese taste

Disadvantages: but funny cheese
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Hoosier Hill Farm Customer
Nov 7, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
The powder has a good taste although not as tangy as the Kraft from Mac & Cheese box. Also it clumped quickly. I mixed some with a little more milk to get the lumps out and that helped but then it made the taste bland. Any suggestions on how not to have it clump?

Advantages: Good taste

Disadvantages: clumps too quickly
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
sjsheehan
Oct 15, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
My family likes macaroni a little cheesier than you get by using just the packets in the box. We also use it on popcorn.

Advantages: For cheesier mac and cheesy popcorn
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Kurt
Oct 6, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
The flavor is fantastic but unfortunately it clumps incredibly fast and doesn't dissolve well so it's hard to use for Mac and cheese. But the flavor is great so it's worth it. I've put some in chili and tried it on popcorn and it's great.

Advantages: Great taste but doesn't work well for Mac.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Cody K.
Oct 13, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I don't normally traffic much in processed foods, but on a certain kind of rainy, chilly day, good ol' Kraft macaroni and cheese is a guilty comfort-food pleasure. But I sometimes like to switch out the Kraft macaroni for whole-grain (and keep the Kraft in a jar to toss into soups), so really, what I've been paying for is just the little silver cheese-powder packet. Hoosier Hill is my first foray into trying to find a substitute for the Kraft packets. I found that the Hoosier Hill product, when made according to package directions, lacks a certain tartness that Kraft has. Too, as others have noted, it tends to clump. Solution: mix the cheese powder into about half a cup of plain yogurt (you'll have to figure out the proportions you like best), and dress your macaroni with that. Result: added tang, less fat, and a tasty, comforting dish for rainy days. Modified this way, Hoosier Hill is really very good.

Advantages: Better with a very simple hack
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
EDNA HOBBS
Nov 3, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
very good service would buy it again
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Brandi
Nov 1, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This powdered cheese is a game changer! I have used it on veggies, in broccoli cheese soup, on popcorn, French fries, homemade potato chips, mashed potatoes....endless possibilities. The taste is great and we will be using it on macaroni.

Advantages: The taste is great and we will be using it on macaroni
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
S. Thornburg
Oct 27, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This is GREAT cheese powder! Makes delicious creamy-smooth cheese sauce, and is also good as a corn-chip coating. I mix in some cayenne, cumin, black pepper and garlic powder, add a couple teaspoons into a 15-ounce bag of corn-chips, and shake it well. It makes a very tasty snack.

Advantages: Great cheese powder!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Hoosier Hill Farm Customer
Oct 14, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
My daughter loves this cheese mix and now prefers to use it to make her Mac and Cheese as opposed to the boxed brands.

Advantages: My daughter loves this cheese mix and now prefers to ...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Douglas J. Lindner
Oct 4, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Having fun with them.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Gerald Gifford
Oct 2, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Tasty and convenient

Advantages: For cheeseheads
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Anne Dickinson
Sep 29, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This is a great product. I've made mac and cheese as well as cheesy popcorn. Highly recommend!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Dr. J
Sep 29, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I am a stickler for Mac and cheese. I was simply hoping this would be as good as the blue-box stuff. My expectations were exceeded. This is actually better, and harkens back to what Kraft used to be during my childhood.

Advantages: Better than you expect.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
C. Withers
Sep 24, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
My almost 14 year old son loves this cheese mix. It rescued generic Mac and Cheese mix I found for 50 cents a box at discount retailer. The cheese powder was "off" despite it being within the sell by date. Substituted 1/2 cup of this cheese powder and he said "it's better than your homemade". High praise from a hyper-critical teen. I think it is good enough for now, but am thinking of buying their cheddar mix too and mixing my 1 1/2 remaining jars for a cheesier blend. Didn't have hard the lumps discribed by others...I added extra milk to avoid them.

Advantages: Good Enough For Now...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
shawn
Sep 12, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This stuff is soon yummy on popcorn!!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Marisa McKimm
Sep 2, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
It is fabulous cant go wrong!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Dorothy
Aug 25, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Although powdered cheese isn't my thing, my family is swooning over this!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Susan J. Schmitz
Aug 15, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
yep, just like the blue box stuff only better!

Advantages: just like the blue box stuff only better
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
jett4th
Nov 2, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I love this stuff. American made. Tastes better the the old blue box. I always add extra. So cheesy

Advantages: So good
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Susan P.
Sep 11, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Favorite on popcorn

Advantages: Five Stars
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Please register to add a review, or sign in to your account and add your review!
Gift certificates