> Reviews

Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
1977 results found
Show results 1 - 25
Oct 26, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Would be helpful if directions for use were on container... instead of having to look up on Hoosier Hill Farm
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (23) / No (1)
Aug 10, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I really would like to see the powdered chickens.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (14) / No (4)
Sep 2, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
So good on popcorn!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (13) / No (-11)
Oct 9, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I picked up this butter powder to make household food mixes ready for backpacking. Butter in your mashed potatoes? Check. Butter as called for in your stuffing recipe? Check. It tastes good and has worked perfectly for bringing real butter on to the trail.

Advantages: Delicious and packable butter for the trail
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (12) / No (0)
Oct 30, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
As a low carber, there aren't any creamer options unless you're willing to take a pint of heavy whipping cream to work. This is exactly what I needed to stash in my desk drawer for coffee, chai, even cream of chicken soup when combined with bullion.

Advantages: As a low carber, there aren't any creamer options ...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (11) / No (2)
Wendy Cook about  Big Daddy Mac Mix, Original 1 lb:
Nov 17, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I can't believe someone bottles and sells the orange-y cheese-y powder-y stuff that comes in the mac & cheese box! Ok, maybe not the EXACT same stuff, but it TASTES like the same exact stuff. Man. I was raised on it and even though I am all grownup and enjoy a rather diverse field of epicurean delights... I gotta say, on occasion, I needs my mac & cheese and, god-help-me, a fried spam sandwich. It only hits once or twice a year, but when it hits, it hits hard. Gots to have it. And this is the PERFECT addition. I now get to make my mac & cheese as cheese-y as I dreamed of making it when I was a tiny tot shaking the silver envelope to get out every last bit. Seeing this, being able to buy it and keep it on my shelf, makes me happy I am an adult. It allows me, just for a moment, to fulfill a much longed-for fantasy with ease and (I admit it) just a tiny feeling of naughtiness. 5 starts, Hoosier Hill Farm, for giving me a wonderful, semi-annual experience.

Advantages: I am.... The All-Powerful Queen of the Envelope Cheese! Muah ha ha ha!!!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (11) / No (1)
Nov 13, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I ordered this product basically just to see what it was. I'd never heard of powdered heavy cream, and couldn't imagine what such a thing was like. Turns out, it's pretty convenient.This is basically heavy cream with all the water removed. I'm not sure what kind of magic makes this happen - but that's what's in the jar.You can reconstitute the heavy cream by adding about 1 part powder to roughly 2 parts water, blending for a bit, and then giving it time to chill and settle. The end result is basically indistinguishable from heavy cream right out of the carton. Since the heavy cream powder doesn't require refrigeration, it's handy to keep a jug in the cupboard just in case.I also routinely make a breakfast shake with heavy cream and peanut butter... Using this powdered heavy cream and some powdered peanut butter allows me to make a very portable shake - just add water.

Advantages: weird, but handy
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (9) / No (3)
Sep 22, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
The product had NO instructions on the package.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (9) / No (2)
Oct 22, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
After several failed relationships and a medical scare which put me into serious debt, I was beginning to question why I even try anymore. I found the answer in Hoosier Hill Charms Cereal Marshmallows, 1 lb bag. Do I still cry, fully clothed, on the floor of the shower? Yes. Have I continued to utter involuntary shrieks which resonate with existential despair so profound that no poet can attempt (let alone WANT) to describe them? Guilty. But that's OK, becuase Hoosier Hill Charms Cereal Marshmallows, 1 lb bag will always be there and, subsequently, so will I.

Advantages: Gives me a reason to live.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (9) / No (1)
Nov 6, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Good to use in coffee if cream not available. Leaves some small particulate matter not dissolved but no big deal after stirring.

Advantages: Tasty
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (7) / No (1)
Jan 25, 2018
Kind of clumpy - but my biggest thing in the list of ingredients which I expected pure Honey- was the main ingredient was sucrose- if I wanted sucose would have bought it.

Advantages: Easy to use.

Disadvantages: Not what it claims.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (6) / No (-1)
Sep 17, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This butter powder tastes fine and is easy to use. It is non-GMO--an essential requirement in our household--and makes our off-the-grid recipes much more palatable although city folks with fridges would find it handy, too. The ingredients are as follows: Butter (sweet cream, salt, annatto color) and nonfat milk solids. [The label does not give the relative proportions of butter and nonfat milk solids, something we would have liked to know.]

Advantages: Good-quality, good-tasting, and easy to use
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (6) / No (1)
Aug 11, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I bought this for long term food storage. It looks good and I am sure it will work fine. Disappointed that expiration was so short? Just rec'd ,Aug.15 and it expires Feb.'16? So only a few months? Will plan on using for baking over holidays and reorder. Hope for longer expiration next time?

Advantages: Looks Good
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (6) / No (2)
Mar 25, 2017
Where have these been all my life!! I am a long distance backpacker and have been looking for a good egg product. These are amazing. Just like fresh eggs on the trail. Taste, Texture, everything. I will always have these in my pack from now on and will tell every hiker about them!! Thank You Hoosier Hill!!

Advantages: Shelf Stable
Easy To Use
Taste
Light Weight
Flexibility

Disadvantages: ABSOLUTELY NONE
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (6) / No (0)
Nov 15, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Bought it as a present for a back-packing friend who HAS to have his coffee in the morning, and who likes Half and Half. He mixed this with whole milk powder and said it is the closest he has found to having fresh half and half. (He mixes it up the night before and lets it sit overnight in the cold before using it.)

Advantages: Better than I expected!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (2)
Sandra Pfeuffer about  Big Daddy Mac Mix, Original 1 lb:
Jan 23, 2020
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Love this stuff it makes the best mac and cheese. However, I was really disappointed to see that the package I ordered from Hoosier Hill was fulfilled by Amazon, I looked at the expiration date and it expires next month. Like I am really going to use a big jar of this stuff in a month. Very disappointed. Ordered directly from Hoosier so I would have fresh product.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (0)
Aug 20, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I was disappointed in the actual storage time of this pkg.(About one year) I thought it had a long storage life. I didn't plan on using this product real soon and now I am going to have to start using it so it will be used up the expiration date. Storage life info was not very clear. I would have given it a better rating had the storage life and the packaging info been more clear. After all that being said I have not opened this package yet so I cannot attest to the taste.

Disadvantages: I was disappointed in the actual storage time of this pkg
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (4)
Oct 2, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I make coffee at my desk and since the work refrigerator is a biology experiment, I've been using Hoosier Hill Farm Heavy Cream Powder as my creamer. It is very difficult to get it to dissolve easily with just a spoon. You can do it, but it takes some time to stir it in and get rid of the clumps. However, I found that if you use something like the MatchaDNA Handheld Electric Milk Frother, also sold at Hoosier Hill Farm for <$10, it dissolves quickly and completely. I can't think of a way it could have worked better for my needs.This cream tastes wonderful in coffee once it gets whipped in. No taste difference in coffee from regular heavy cream and much more convenient! I've ordered it twice now.

Advantages: Great Coffee Creamer - but needs help dissolving
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (1)
Nov 11, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
so perfect for that old fashioned malted milk taste!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (-2)
Sep 1, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I take it everyday to help with inflamation and digestion
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Sep 27, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Delicious and well maid. It has a sweetens to it that is great for cooking things like ham and chicken, I do think it could use some salt or garlic added.

Advantages: It has a sweetens to it that is great for cooking things like ham and chicken
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (1)
Kathryn Randall about  Hoosier Hill Farm Real Butter powder, 1 lb:
Nov 17, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Great for popcorn

Advantages: Five Stars
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Dannella Pennington about  Hoosier Hill Farm Natural Cocoa Powder, 1 lb:
Jun 29, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Nice screw top container that prevents oxidation and is easy to access.The cocoa powder is just the right amount of "smooth and bite". It make wonder hot chocolate and brownies (my primary use). It may cost a dollar or two more than grocery store brands but the difference in cost per serving per cup of hot cocoa is modest to nothing. Compared to the cost of those expensive coffee establishments, making a cup of cocoa at home is a "snap". After a few cups, you can customize the taste by the amount of cocoa powder you add. So much better than that $5.00 cup at the big label store.I would highly recommend you try at least one pound of this cocoa. I could not find it in my local market.I hope this review helps someone in their purchase decision. Please click "Yes" below this line if this review was helpful to you.

Advantages: RICH COCOA POWDER FOR A VARIETY OF USES
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Hoosier Hill Farm Customer about  Hoosier Hill Farm Whole Granulated Eggs 1 lb.:
Oct 15, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I am very pleased with the Hoosier Hill Farm Whole Powdered Eggs. It's convenient to use in pancakes, omelets, scrambled eggs, and baked goods. I followed the advice of other reviewers and used 2 Tbsp. egg powder to 2 Tbsp. water. They taste great. It's very good quality. There is no waste. I love the container. Also this is good to have on hand when you're out of eggs (and you don't want to have to run out to the supermarket to be able to make a recipe) or for an emergency. I would buy again.

Advantages: Very Pleased Customer - Five Stars
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Nov 2, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
It takes a few minutes to dissolve completely in my morning coffee but tastes great. So NICE to have the full saturated fat content in it which is SO necessary to proper functioning of both my immune and nervous systems. Great alternative to using nonfat dry milk or nondairy creamers which only help to promote neuropathy, Alzheimer's Disease, clogged arteries, and more :D

Advantages: ... to dissolve completely in my morning coffee but tastes great. So NICE to have the full saturated fat ...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (3)

Gift certificates