> Reviews

Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
2262 results found
Show results 76 - 100
Jun 27, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This Clear Jel is great stuff! There don't seem to be a lot of recipes on how to use it well in various ways so I've been experimenting with both this Instant Clear Jel and the one that requires cooking. Of the 2 - I like this one the best as you can determine the thickness of the final product instantly. I don't can foods, but I do make Berry Pies and this is absolutely perfect for making pies. You have to adjust the amount you use to the "type" of fruit, Fresh or Frozen fruit, the amount of fruit and the ripeness of the fruit as some fruits produce more juice than others -- but it's now my go-to thickener for berry pies. I particularly like its texture - and you can instantly make it as thick or thin as you want. BEST - you don't have to cook it. Wonderful blackberry pie!!! I first precook my own homemade pie shell - let it cool. Once the shell is cool, I sweeten fresh or frozen blackberries (I prefer frozen) with Sugar till thawed and juicy - about an hour. Then I add (1 T at a time) the Clear Jel to the Berry/Juice/Sugar Mixture and gently stir it. It thickens up immediately - no cooking. For a firm set pie (doesn't run) I use the full 3 T of Clear Jel for Berries that fill of the 9.5" pie shell. If you want it thinner, somewhat juicier or more runny, just add less till it's the texture you like. It holds up wonderfully in the Refrigerator as well.

Advantages: THE BEST UNCOOKED BLACKBERRY PIE using Clear Jel
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Jul 5, 2017
These Chocolate Covered Espresso Beans are the Best I've ever had and I'm going to get the 5 pound bag next time they also came shipped in a cooler bag with ice to keep it from melting A+

Advantages: They actually ship it with s ICE PACK
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Nov 18, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This is a premium product! Great for smoothies and baking in breads etc. A wonderful way to get your greens without throwing away spinach that has gone bad.

Advantages: You have to try this.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Oct 3, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Love it
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (1)
Sep 29, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Great way to get required vitamins without expiration date over your shoulder...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Sep 26, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Very good product. As described.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Sep 9, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I add this powder to my morning smoothies alternating it with Kelp and Alfalfa powders. The powder does not change the taste of the smoothie as much as fresh spinach. I am happy to get a serving or two of greens into my diet so easily.

Advantages: I use this powder almost every day!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Sep 7, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
The product works as advertised. I would order again.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Oct 24, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Excellent product. Significantly better taste than cayenne.

Advantages: Five Stars
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Jul 2, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
So happy to have found these. I love the smoky/spicy flavor of chipotle and this product delivers it. I use these on my egg in the morning, on pizza, in soups, in salsa, and on just about everything else I can. I am glad it was a pretty big container, because I use it a lot!

Advantages: Great smoky flavor.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Apr 11, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Excellent Fresh product! Use on everything from chicken to avocado to pizza!Even made a Chipotle simple syrup for awesome Spicy Margaritas.

Advantages: Excellent Fresh product
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Jan 1, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
If you like chipotle chiles, you will love using these dried chilies in all your dishes; i.e. on pizza, in tamales, in quesadillas, burritos, etc. I even like it on steamed broccoli or cauliflower. You will find endless uses for these delicious dried chilies!

Advantages: Bring some heat to your dishes in a most flavorful way!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Nov 13, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I smoke many products including bacon. The use of "curing salt" such as this product increases shelf life, reduces the chances of bacterial contamination, and improves color. This product was as advertised, arrived in just a few days, nice packing, and no clumping. No complaints. I would order from them again.

Advantages: Works for me
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Nov 13, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
perfect for our homemade jerky
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Sep 13, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I love that you can get this product on Hoosier Hill Farm. Not only because Hoosier Hill Farm usually has the best prices but also because it's an extremely hard to find item. For example I went to a special spice store as well as Meijer Kroger and Walmart and none of them had it I was at my wit's end when I remembered that I have Hoosier Hill Farm Prime and search for on there and this is one of the products that came up first. We have been using this for curing our own hands and it works wonderful I also really like the container because you can buy cheaper refills and just put it back into the container because I prefer a reusable container like this rather than a bag. This works like it's supposed to and I like the quality of the product would recommend it highly

Advantages: Great for making your own ham!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Aug 18, 2013
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Did the job! It could be the best curing salt I've ever used but I don't use much so not sure if there is better out there. What I can say is that I made incredible bacon from a 10lb pork belly.

Advantages: Exactly what I needed to make bacon
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Sep 3, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
We used this powder to make homemade smoked bacon. It only takes a little bit but that little bit makes the end product come out just right. We used Morton Tenderquick for the first batch and there's no comparison that the prague batch was hands down better. Highly recommend using this pink salt at least on bacon. Can't wait to try it on our next batch of jerky.

Advantages: We used Morton Tenderquick for the first batch and there's no comparison that the prague batch was hands down better. Highly rec
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Oct 2, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I bake a lot with honey and it's great. Does not take as much honey to sweeten as sugar.

Advantages: I bake a lot with honey and it's great. Does not take as much honey to sweeten ...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Oct 24, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Italian tradition for wedding reception. Known as confetti, my wife had to have these for son's wedding. Timely shipping and excellent quality product. My wife is very happy. So am I, but these are extremely addictive.

Advantages: Excellent quality
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Jun 3, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
These are perfect for adding marshmallows to hot chocolate. They taste very fresh, the only thing I would say is that this is a VERY LARGE bag. Much larger than I was expecting. It's basically a personal lifetime supply of extra marshmallows for your hot chocolate.

Advantages: Very fresh
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Oct 20, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I love this molasses powder! It is so easy now to add a bit of molasses to any recipe that I make.

Advantages: I love this molasses powder
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Jun 2, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Used it for a Breaking Bad costume. Woked great!

Advantages: Looks like Blue Meth
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Nov 14, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Tasty but leaves dye on teeth, tongue and lips.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
K. L. Petro about  Pink Peppercorns, 4.0 oz.:
Apr 13, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I haven't actually cooked with these yet, though tried some on a salad. What I will say at this point is that they are very fresh! And a definite bargain.

Advantages: Great peppercorns
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Dave about  Pink Peppercorns, 4.0 oz.:
Nov 6, 2013
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This pepper adds a whole new dimension to the taste of your food. A MUST TRY !!! Works well in my pepper mill and mixed with other pepper corns.Will buy again from this seller when I run out.

Advantages: A Great Pepper - Adds a whole new dimension to your food
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)

Gift certificates