> Reviews

Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
1977 results found
Show results 151 - 175
Jun 17, 2014
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I love it! It pops great, it doesn't pop purple though lol , I've been popping it in a skillet just like the way my mom did, takes me back to a simpler time. I've been using coconut oil instead of crisco.I ordered this in the evening and had it the next morning, which was fine, but not necessary , this product is great, my grandkids love it also

Advantages: Great product
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Feb 3, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This popcorn works well in the Whirley Pop. Most of the kernals popped and the flavor was good. I would buy this product again.

Advantages: Works with the Whirley Pop
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Nov 12, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I tore through this bag of candy corn with intense vigor. It has a lighter sweetness than your typical brands, and I found it completely addictive.

Advantages: The perfect candy corn
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Nov 4, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
it is candy corn and supposed to be sweet. Very good. Would order again. It is fresh and soft melt in your mouth candy.

Advantages: it is candy corn and supposed to be sweet. Very good
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Sep 2, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
It's okay, I was surprised that it tastes a little salty. Probably OK for baking, but I wouldn't mix it up to put in coffee or use in liquid form.

Advantages: Okay.

Disadvantages: A little salty
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Oct 8, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
More than satisfactory. I purchased it for coffee when camping, but it has already come in handy otherwise, by eliminating the need to run out for cream for a recipe (or coffee for the next morning). It rehydrates nicely, stirred into warm water, but should sit a bit for best flavor and texture. (I didn't add it directly to hot coffee.) Rehydrated w/ water, then mixed w/ milk, it makes a fine 'half-n-half'. When I tasted it immediately after mixing with water the first time, it had a pronounced salty flavor, so pronounced that I added a couple of pinches of sugar to offset. I now think the salty taste was a funtion of not letting the product reydrate/ flavors integrate enough before tasting. The instructions actually say to let it sit overnight in the fridge before using, but I've only done that once, and that was after I used it to make half-n-half.There's no comparison between this and a non-dairy creamer. This functions like the real thing.

Advantages: Exceeded my expectations.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Jul 13, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I have no desire to try other brands....I found the best! Hoosier Hill Farm Heavy Cream Powder blew me away!! I have never been a real fan of powdered anything until recently. I purchased a few different products just to have on hand to keep me from having to make a trip to the store. I was so glad I did this...I love this brand and love what I can do with it. From coffee to food...it has a sweet rich flavor. Trust me, you won't regret it.

Advantages: from a cup of coffee to cooking....it's the best.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Nov 6, 2018
I started using this in my bean to bar chocolate. First trial was 80% whole milk powder and 20% heavy cream powder. Tasted good but then I added another 20% and did this taste great.

Advantages: Must use if making homemade chocolate
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Oct 22, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Nice to have in my BOB in case the SHTF

Advantages: Get some
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Jul 14, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I Am a 15 year old entrepreneur, starting up a gourmet popcorn business in my small towns farmers market. I used this popcorn for 4 weeks, as it was a great deal and prime eligible. Once the prime was dropped I had to stop using it as it would no longer fit my budget :( although, I'm still running through my last bag and absolutely love it. It pops large and has a great taste!

Advantages: as it was a great deal and prime eligible
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Sep 21, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This purple - hulled popcorn pops up nice and fluffy and a bright white. It is slightly sweet, slightly nutty, and slightly crunchy. However, it's more fluffy/tender than crunchy. Popping shatters the hulls into tiny bits so they don't get stuck in your teeth, which makes it seem virtually hulless. It's the best tasting popcorn by far in my opinion. I have both a movie theater-style kettle popcorn machine and a Whirl Pop. I've also tried it in a covered heavy saucepan. It comes out equally good no matter how you cook it. Try popping it in a little extra virgin coconut oil, or butter flavored Crisco. Either one will give you a super treat.

Advantages: Purple passion
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
May 31, 2014
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Adds pure sour taste to food items. I like to add it to drinks -- like fruit drinks -- that are excessively sweet. I also add it to fruit yogurts to make it more tart. This particular malic acid seems like really high quality compared to others I've had. All natural.

Advantages: Very good quality malic acid
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Aug 17, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This stuff is excellent! I put coconut oil and a couple of spoons full of this and put it in a plastic jar and make my own body scrub it takes off the dead skin cells and works better than other pricey products.

Advantages: This stuff is excellent! I put coconut oil and a couple of ...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Aug 19, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Taste greater
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Sep 30, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
If you like cheese curls, you will love this stuff. I use it as a salt substitute! You can make your cheese curls twice as cheesy!

Advantages: Cheesy is Good
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (1)
Nov 16, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
OK product, but funny cheese taste

Disadvantages: but funny cheese
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Hoosier Hill Farm Customer about  Big Daddy Mac Mix, Original 1 lb:
Nov 7, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
The powder has a good taste although not as tangy as the Kraft from Mac & Cheese box. Also it clumped quickly. I mixed some with a little more milk to get the lumps out and that helped but then it made the taste bland. Any suggestions on how not to have it clump?

Advantages: Good taste

Disadvantages: clumps too quickly
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Oct 13, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I don't normally traffic much in processed foods, but on a certain kind of rainy, chilly day, good ol' Kraft macaroni and cheese is a guilty comfort-food pleasure. But I sometimes like to switch out the Kraft macaroni for whole-grain (and keep the Kraft in a jar to toss into soups), so really, what I've been paying for is just the little silver cheese-powder packet. Hoosier Hill is my first foray into trying to find a substitute for the Kraft packets. I found that the Hoosier Hill product, when made according to package directions, lacks a certain tartness that Kraft has. Too, as others have noted, it tends to clump. Solution: mix the cheese powder into about half a cup of plain yogurt (you'll have to figure out the proportions you like best), and dress your macaroni with that. Result: added tang, less fat, and a tasty, comforting dish for rainy days. Modified this way, Hoosier Hill is really very good.

Advantages: Better with a very simple hack
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (1)
Matt Aragon about  Big Daddy Mac Mix, Original 1 lb:
Nov 15, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I like this product. I will be reordering.

Advantages: Will buy again.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (1)
S. Thornburg about  Big Daddy Mac Mix, Original 1 lb:
Oct 27, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
This is GREAT cheese powder! Makes delicious creamy-smooth cheese sauce, and is also good as a corn-chip coating. I mix in some cayenne, cumin, black pepper and garlic powder, add a couple teaspoons into a 15-ounce bag of corn-chips, and shake it well. It makes a very tasty snack.

Advantages: Great cheese powder!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Nov 9, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Tastes great. Gluten Free. Now I can add it to my gluten free pasta Barilla Gluten Free Pasta, Elbows, 12 Ounce (Pack of 12) and it tastes just like the kraft stuff. I sometimes add a little extra powder and some fresh grated cheddar but this is amazing stuff and worth it, for someone who either a) can no longer tolerate gluten, b) on a diet permitting it. It's a nice treat. You may want to mix it in a bowl first, to avoid clumping.

Advantages: Tastes great. Gluten Free
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (1)
Sep 18, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
I really like this cheese mix. I didn't add butter in mine. I made a smaller portion than what the label called for because my 2 year old and I don't eat that much. I just added the powder a little at a time and then added the milk the same. I used room temperature milk to prevent clumping. It makes really creamy macaroni and cheese. It is way better than easy mac. Me and my little boy eat this for a quick snack most of the time. We have also made this for a large side dish with our meal. I received this product at a discounted rate in exchange for my honest review.

Advantages: Cheese mix
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (1)
Nov 2, 2015
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
My wife is a cereal junky and her favorite part is the marshmallows. I found these for her on Hoosier Hill Farm to add to her cereal. They are very good quality marshmallows and have just the right texture and taste that mimics the boxes cereal kind. They arrived really quickly.

Advantages: As Good As the Box
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Jul 18, 2014
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
Works great for making my signature cheeses. To see some of my recipes using this product, go to ChefmarkAnthony.com.I also recommend this powder rather than the flakes that run 5 times the price.

Advantages: Works great for making my signature cheeses
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (1)
Hoosier Hill Farm Customer about  Hoosier Hill Farm Agar Agar powder, 1 lb.:
Nov 19, 2013
a Hoosier Hill Farm customer
It took very little searching to learn how to use it (I tend to overload the fruit). Instructions vary on how long to boil the agar in the liquid -- I use the shorter times with good results. I've had fun experimenting with different savory or sweet recipes, and trying different sweeteners. This product has terrific setting-up action! It does not need to be chilled to set up.Since Agar powder is used by the teaspoon, (compared to the tablespoon of Agar flakes), 1 pound will last me a good long time, and is worth the price! I'm so glad I got it. Much healthier than gelatin, and easier to use. My family loves it, too.

Advantages: Agar agar powder is sooo easy to use!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)

Gift certificates